BCLTA header


MISSION STATEMENT:To develop and support library trustees to advance public library service in British Columbia

The Nominations Committee is pleased to be endorsing the following enthusiastic candidates for BCLTA board positions at the upcoming 2004 AGM, June 18 Victoria BC:

There are three directors positions available

1) Director at Large (2 year): Surrey Public Library
Alan Newberry, past Executive Director of BC School Trustees Association, previously a Saanich City Councillor and past Trustee on the Greater Victoria Public Library. He is also the Surrey representative to InterLink. Alan has served one year on the BCLTA board.

2) Director at Large (2 year):
Ted Bacigalupo, currently in his fifth year as an Okanagan Regional Library Board member/Trustee, having served and continue to serve on the Finance Comittee, the Policy and Planning Comittee and previously on the Executive Comittee. Ted has served one year on the BCLTA board.

3) Director at Large (2 years):
Dave Sherwood, is in his third year as Chair on the Board of the Prince George Public Library, and in his eighth year on the board. A 23-year resident of Prince George, Dave is a Television Producer and Creative Director for the Jim Pattison Broadcast Group.

4) Director at Large (2 years):
Shannon Daub serves on the Vancouver Public Library Board. She is currently Vice Chair, and a member of the Services, Planning and Finance Committee as well as the Community Relations Committee. A communications professional with a local non-profit society, Shannon is also Chair of her credit union board.

5)Director at Large (2 years):
Caroline Waters, is a graduate of the University of Calgary and mother of four teenagers. She is also a Councillor with the City of Parksville and operates a home-based business. Caroline serves as a Library Trustee with Vancouver Island Regional Library Board and member of her Executive Comittee, Parksville.

6) Director at Large (2 years):
Nirmal Parmar was on the Terrace Public Library Board from 1981-1989 and again in 1999 where he is currently the chair. He has previously served as Director of Awards on the BCLTA board 2001-2002

Having our vacant board positions filled with these candidates meets the goals of diversified regional representation, strong and varied backgrounds and enthusiastic commitment:

Current board members also running for positions are:

President: Sally Gibson
Sally currently volunteers within the provincial library community. She is Vice Chair of the North Vancouver District Public Library; she is a Trustee on the Board of the Friends of the NVDPL; she is a Director on InterLINK, a federated public library system. Sally is also the President of the BC Library Trustees Association; and the Secretary Treasurer of the Canadian Library Trustees Association. She believes that libraries play a central role in promoting intellectual freedom; democratic ideals and a sense of community. Indeed, Sally believes that libraries are in the community development business. These fundamental beliefs are also inherent in adult education theory and practice. Her volunteer work and chosen profession embrace many similar ideals.

Don Hamilton , Lynn Adams, Kathryn Nokony and Lawrence Lavender will continue their second years
Blair Qualey
will automatically assume the role of Past President

British Columbia Library Trustees Association PO Box 4334, Station Terminal Vancouver BC V6B 3Z7 Tel: (604) 913-1424 Fax: (604) 913-1413



© 2002, 2003, 2004 BCLTA
Site Design and Maintenance by ThinkHelp.com